OberonPlace.com Forums  

Go Back   OberonPlace.com Forums > Developer Forums > VBA > CorelDRAW/Corel DESIGNER VBA

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19-05-2006, 07:50
VyperOne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Print Settings are not working

Consider the following:

Sub arTest()
Dim test As Boolean
test = ActiveDocument.PrintSettings.ShowDialog()

ActiveDocument.PrintSettings.Separations.Enabled = True

With ActiveDocument.PrintSettings.Separations.Plates
.Item(1).Enabled = True
.Item(2).Enabled = True
.Item(3).Enabled = False
.Item(4).Enabled = True
End With

ActiveDocument.PrintOut

End Sub

In theory you should get three pages printed to the printer, one for each of the three plates turned on in the CMYK color model. Instead whatever the print settings dialog box is set to that is what corel uses when it prints.

Unfortunately I do not see this happening. No matter what you set the printersettings to via VBA or .NET the values you set are ignored completely.


Additionally Loading print settings from a file via VBA or .NET does not work either.

Hopefully I am doing something wrong and someone can point this out.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-05-2006, 08:32
Alex's Avatar
Alex Alex is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,940
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Yes, I can confirm the problem. It is a bug...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-05-2006, 08:41
VyperOne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Figured as much. Alex how can we get this fixed?

I need a fix for a client whose product relies upon these features. I sent an email to the Technology Parter people at Corel and have received no response whatsoever. I am reluctant to pay them for any support as I feel they will not resolve the issue and get me what I need for my client.


S
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-05-2006, 10:46
Alex's Avatar
Alex Alex is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,940
Blog Entries: 4
Default

I will see what I can do about this...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-05-2006, 16:56
VyperOne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Any word on a fix for this yet Alex?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-06-2006, 16:58
RobC
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think this is a long-standing bug, going back to corel 11 at least.

How I've dreamt of having the ability to print separations programatically. I think I brought this up in the "what would you like to see fixed in corel 12?" thread. http://forum.oberonplace.com/showthr...?p=701#post701 I guess I should have elaborated...

I hope it gets fixed.

Last edited by RobC; 06-06-2006 at 17:25.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-06-2006, 19:12
VyperOne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I finally called Deveoper Support today at Corel. I need this bug fixed as I have a big contract relying on it. I was encouraged by there willigness to help. Maybe we will get it fixed. Corel needs their own forum with their developers moderating who can help out in these situations. I'll be happy to get this fixed.....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-06-2006, 10:32
VyperOne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Angry

Alex,

Talked to Doug at Corel today about the issue this thread pertains to. As you have determined this to be a bug did you find it in the core corel code or the VBA code?

My concern is if its in the core code then I will have to wait for a service release.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-06-2006, 13:41
Alex's Avatar
Alex Alex is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,940
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Well, it doesn't look like it's VBA itself. In fact, the same thing happens in the dialog - select some separation plates, then close the dialog (hit Apply then Close or Print). Go to the dialog again and you'll see that all the plates are selected again.

When you think of it, it is actually a somewhat desirable effect. Once you changed the settings and closed the dialog, you might have created some more objects which added new separation plates to the document, or you might have deleted some objects. So the next time the dialog is invoked, the document is re-analyzed and the separation list is reset. However the problem is that in VBA either scenario could be valid. Some users might want to make sure that any changes to the document that might happen between the time you set last option in Document.PrintSettings and called Document.PrintOut be reflected on the printout. However this also makes it impossible to "freeze" the settings in between.

I guess the proper fix would be to somehow allow the VBA user to expicitly specify that Document.PrintOut should analyze the document or if this should be disabled. But it's definitely not just a matter of fixing some "bug". Some additional thought needs to be put into solving this problem. I'm myself not sure how I would fix it yet...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20-06-2007, 10:46
StevenDavison
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Corel 11

So... I'm guessing this is a dead issue and Corel will probably just have me upgrade?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to print to pdf file with imposition layout samhoods General 1 08-04-2006 23:45
Create a Macro for a tool's settings? riccarcf Macros/Add-ons 7 20-11-2005 08:35
HP 8550 print special character problem petu CorelDRAW/Corel DESIGNER VBA 0 21-07-2005 22:04
Corel V9- print only printer-safe colors using gamut alarm? Kitemaker CorelDRAW/Corel DESIGNER VBA 5 30-06-2004 16:03
finding node angles? IanVincent CorelDRAW/Corel DESIGNER VBA 4 12-12-2003 23:32


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2011, Oberonplace.com