OberonPlace.com Forums  

Go Back   OberonPlace.com Forums > Developer Forums > VBA > CorelDRAW/Corel DESIGNER VBA

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27-10-2006, 22:12
mick classen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default auto entering data from a databas into corel x3

I have a very specific need -- to automate data entry into our customers' corel files. We have over 1900 customers and I need a way to quickly enter information on them when we have to create a new corel file for them.

What I want to do is to have 5 database fields in corel. The first field will be the customer's name. This field will be linked to our "customer" databse and should have a drop down file list to chose from. Once that customer's name is entered then the remaining 4 fields will auto enter the information from the database....phone #, cell#, fax # and email address.

Our database is FileMaker Pro 6 and we are using CorelX3

I look forward to any help and am willing to purchase a product if it is available.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-10-2006, 01:05
shelbym's Avatar
shelbym shelbym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Posts: 1,769
Blog Entries: 10
Send a message via ICQ to shelbym Send a message via AIM to shelbym Send a message via MSN to shelbym Send a message via Yahoo to shelbym
Default Database

I don't have any experience with FileMaker Pro, but if you can get an ADO connection to it, then sure this is very possible. Here is an example I did sometime back for Access:

Access Database Example

If that doesn't help let me know and I might be able to work something else up for you.

Shelby
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-10-2006, 15:33
mick classen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for the response. I spent quite a bit of time on this problem last night and this morning. I've discovered that my newest favorite piece of software - Romcat can handle all of our needs.

It is actually going to be a bit better approach for us...but thanks again for the input.

I'd be happy to explain exactly how we are using Romcat to accomplish this if you are interested.

Mick
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-10-2006, 10:28
ddonnahoe's Avatar
ddonnahoe ddonnahoe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 552
Send a message via ICQ to ddonnahoe Send a message via AIM to ddonnahoe Send a message via MSN to ddonnahoe Send a message via Yahoo to ddonnahoe
Default

I'm interested. I'd really like to know how this can be accomplished through Romcat, seeing as I use it everyday for Corel Clips.
__________________
Sean
Waiting for a ride in the T.A.R.D.I.S.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-10-2006, 11:05
gingem
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Sean
The way you can use Romcat for this is when you save the files and keywords to the file like customer number or anything else you would like and romcat can index these. After you build the database you can then use the keyword search and the files will appear. It's a great feature that I have been using for years but never think about it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corel 8.232 Help xsc General 3 31-07-2006 11:38
Corel MAC with Corel PC Dave Rowland General 9 24-04-2006 17:08
corel draw 11 and Corel Trace 11 BEAMA General 2 04-08-2005 19:39
Is Corel to Excel data exchange possible? alex69 CorelDRAW/Corel DESIGNER VBA 8 24-06-2004 04:52
Corel Capture 8 and Corel Script Helix CorelDRAW CS 0 13-12-2002 18:10


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2011, Oberonplace.com