OberonPlace.com Forums  

Go Back   OberonPlace.com Forums > Corel User Forums > Corel PHOTO-PAINT > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2006, 11:49
sjoens
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Image resolution problem

Hi, I'm new here.

I was editing some digital photos the other day and found my 300 dpi high res pics revert to 72 dpi when opened in Photopaint 9. Why is this?

My 6.2 megapixel HP digital camera is set to the highest resolution. It creates 300 dpi ".jpg" files.

When I transfer photos to the computer and right click on properties, it says they are 300 dpi.

When I open HP's Photo managing program and highlight the same pictures and click on "information" it too says they are 300 dpi.

When I open the same file in Photopaint 9 and select resample, it says it is only 72 dpi.

When I zoom in and count the pixels there is only 72 per inch.

Any ideas what's going on here?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-2006, 12:26
shelbym's Avatar
shelbym shelbym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Posts: 1,769
Blog Entries: 9
Send a message via ICQ to shelbym Send a message via AIM to shelbym Send a message via MSN to shelbym Send a message via Yahoo to shelbym
Default Image Resolution

First I have to say I have never understood why some programs report resolution at 300dpi and others at 72dpi. I am sure someone smarter then me would know this answer.

But to answer your question if you look at the file in PhotoPaint is is probally rather large like 8 x 10 inches or greater. When your camera software is giving you the 300dpi it is probally only at like 4 x 5.

All the detail and resolution is there, the software just has a different way of showing it to you. Again don't know why.

Shelby
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-08-2006, 12:28
sallybode
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

They fixed that in PP X3 but there may be a fix on the Corel website where they have the updates for the products.

I'd try there.

Depending upon your point of view, you may want to see 72dpi from your camera. Myself, I like the 300 dpi.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-08-2006, 12:40
Michael Cervantes
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Image Resolution

http://www.microscope-microscope.org...resolution.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image_resolution

http://www.designer-info.com/Writing...resolution.htm

Hope it helps to understand what it is.

Regards
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing linked bitmap images produces low resolution image Alex FAQ 1 04-06-2006 14:48
CD11 Convert to Bitmap -> CMYK to Gray scale problem xenio General 7 24-07-2005 21:46
coreldraw 12 resolution problem chris_t46 CorelDRAW/Corel DESIGNER VBA 2 27-05-2004 00:27
Apply Outline - Scale with Image geopig CorelDRAW/Corel DESIGNER VBA 4 06-05-2004 07:23
Population of Image Box ddonnahoe CorelDRAW/Corel DESIGNER VBA 10 10-02-2004 13:20


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2011, Oberonplace.com