OberonPlace.com Forums  

Go Back   OberonPlace.com Forums > Developer Forums > VBA > CorelDRAW/Corel DESIGNER VBA

Old 07-12-2011, 18:26
inkmachine

Default Help for a Newb to VBA on how to open directory?

Hi Everyone,

I'm new here and I'm a noobie when it comes to VBA code, but an old hat when it comes to CorelDraw. I've been using CorelDraw since version 3. No, not X3...version 3.0 LOL.

I'm familiar with coding such as HTML, XHTML, CGI, Perl, etc.
I have never worked with VBA or CorelScript and have just recently (within last 7 or 8 months) really started to see the light on how powerful VBA and macros can be when used with CorelDraw. What the heck has taken me so long...right??? lol

I have been looking through many macros that I have downloaded and am trying to learn little by little on how things work/function.

I work as an artist at a screenprinting shop and we have 2 directories that we open files from and save files to. Examples are:

s:\Final_Artwork
s:\Prelims

we use these two directories many many times throughout the day and I'd love to be able to create a macro so that we could open and save to these two default folders.

Example:

Open the S:\Prelims directory by hitting the Shift+F2 key. We then look for our file, find it, open it as usual.

Save the artwork by hitting Shift+F3 and it would bring up the save file dialog already in the S:\Final_Artwork directory. We just type in the name to save it as and hit enter or OK and it would be saved in the S:\Final_Artwork directory.

I can't even begin to tell you how much time this would save every day. Not having to hit Cntrl+O then dig down through directories to get to the S:\Prelims directory or Cntrl+S then digging to the S:\Final_Artwork directory would shave off a ton of time in total at the end of the day.

I know it probably sounds lazy...like...how much time can it take diging through directories right? But it adds up! LOL